Tamasys' Blog

I hate my host!

Posted on: October 17, 2008

At first I loved it. Then I put up with it. Then I hated it. Now I am trying to ditch it.

It started off fine. I spent a good hour or two scouring the internet for the best possible free host, and stumbled upon Zymic. They had heaps of storage and bandwidth, MySQL, PHP, and other language support, FTP access, massive support forums, and heaps more. Sounds great, doesn’t it? WRONG! While they had heaps of great features – all for free – about two weeks after I set up my site on their vndv server it began to experience slowdowns and crashes.

The first one was blamed on a power outage, but soon they began experiencing the dreaded… Read-Only Bug! For some reason, the hard disks of the servers kept putting themselves into a read-only state, so the FTP didn’t work and neither did any server side scripts, such as PHP, which runs almost all of my site.

Every time this happened, they had to take the server down for up to six hours to do a full disk check. This resulted in a lot of downtime, as I’m sure you can imagine. This happened more and more, until they finally decided to upgrade their servers. This was all supposed to happen over the course of three days, but it got put off for a week. Then another week. Then nothing for a month. After two months, they finally got around to it, and halfway through the transfer the company who ran the new server got sued by Microsoft for distributing scareware, resulting in the transfer being cancelled.

I have finally given up. I surrender. Or, rather, I retreat. I am setting up my own server as we speak, and I will host my site from that. Anything is better than what I have now. I hope this works…

On a lighter note, here is one of the coolest animals EVER:

It is a blobfish, or more specifically a Psychrolutes marcidus. It looks really cool, don’t you think?

5 Responses to "I hate my host!"

Dude, you should get your own server-no offence, but it’s not like your home pc couldn’t handle it. How many members are their on the forum?

BTW the goblin shark and anglerfish are way cooler.

I have one set up already – all I need to do is to get the port forwarding configured correctly and I can ditch vndv :D:D:D
~13
No way, the blobfish is the best.

Orrrrrr….. let Four Island host it!!!!! PLEASE!!!!!!!

But that would be cheating, wouldn’t it! 😀

😦 But Four Island’s going to be back up soon. We’ve ordered the router, and when it gets here (5-7 business days) we’ll order the upgrade.

Leave a Reply

