Tamasys' Blog

How to Full Screen in Firefox for Mac

Posted on: November 29, 2008

Well, not really, but this is about as close as you will get…

I made these because I was bored, I had free time, and the lack of full screen support on Firefox for Mac annoyed me. While this is less than perfect (I know I shouldn’t admit this, as I wrote the code) it is good if you are desperate to hide those annoying toolbars and pesky buttons. All that will show are the address bar and the status bar. Unfortunately, it still shows the menu bar and dock, but I can’t do much about that…

javascript:window.open(prompt("Please enter a web address","http://"),"myWindow","status=1,fullscreen=1,resizable=1");

This piece of code will allow you to type in a web address (the “http://” is important) to open in a (semi-)full screen window. To use it, just create a new bookmark with this code as the location.

javascript:window.open(location.href,"myWindow","status=1,fullscreen=1,resizable=1");

This piece of code will reload the current page in a (again, semi-)full screen window. Just copy it into a new bookmark.

Again, I must stress that this is a very poor imitation (if you can even call it that…) of full screeniness, but it is about as good as you will get on Firefox for Mac… for now. Hopefully they will fix this problem in future updates, but I hear that it is fairly low on their priorities list.

8 Responses to "How to Full Screen in Firefox for Mac"

(Ozzyfrog) I’m impressed, partly because I don’t understand a word of it. And I don’t have a Mac to try it out on 😦

(Not that I could do it anyway!)

(Caiphas) That’s good and all. But where is the Wikiverse?

Calm down, Caiphas. It will be back soon – I am just waiting for vndv to stop being silly so that I can transfer it…

ONOZ!!!!! IT WON’T BE BACK SOON!!!!! IT WON’T BE BACK EVER!!!!! ALL THE FILES ARE GONE!!! D: D: D:
‘Tis terrible. I can’t do anything about it – it is all vdnv’s fault. I hate them.

But why would anyone be using a Mac anyways 🙂

*whispers “Let me host it…. let me host it….” 🙂

Your all nuts

George rules

Well that was an intelligent post by Zaroc.

Who is Zaroc? Why has he bothered to read my blog? Where in the world is Carmen Sandiego?

Leave a Reply

