Tamasys' Blog

The Closest Book

Posted on: December 3, 2008

I saw a post on Four Island called Of Books and Memes, and, being the meme loving person I am, felt compelled to read it (not that this is unusual with 4I posts…).

It talked about a meme, the rules of which are thus:

  1. Grab the nearest book.
  2. Open it to page 56.
  3. Find the fifth sentence.
  4. Post the text of the sentence in your blog along with these instructions.
  5. Don’t pick your favourite book, the cool book, or the intellectual one: pick the CLOSEST.

I got these results:

“When a reporter from The Times went to investigate ‘the group’, he found that Arthur was under constant attack from his wife, a veteran feminist who is bigger than he is, owns the house, supports Arthur financially and makes him do all the housework.”
The Return of Heroic Failures by Stephen Pile


Interesting…

4 Responses to "The Closest Book"

I should hope that reading my posts isn’t unusual for you. *stares down tamasys*

I’ve noticed that your Pingback hasn’t registered on my blog. I’ll go add it manually.

Aha. I see what the problem was. TimTam, you seemed to have, somehow, acquired the wrong URL for that post. You posted the actual URL (http://fourisland.com/index.php?area=blog&post=of-books-and-memes) instead of the rewritten URL (http://fourisland.com/blog/of-books-and-memes/). How did you manage to do that?

The original URLs don’t work because my pingback engine only checks against the rewritten URLs, and it also dislikes ampherstands.

Please get back to me on this. I’d like to know how you got that URL so I can stop others from doing so and preventing my blog from getting the pingbacks it deserves. πŸ™‚

Of course it isn’t unusual πŸ˜€
I had to use the actual link because for a while when I went to the rewritten link from the RSS feed it gave me a 404 error. It seems to be fixed now, though…

Wow, that’s really weird. I just noticed that the RSS feed was syndicating the original URLs. I’ll see what I can do about that, thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Leave a Reply

