Tamasys' Blog

I Remember When

Posted on: December 19, 2009

I was talking to Ozzyfrog the other say at an obscenely late hour, as we are wont to do. He mentioned that The Games Season 2 was out on DVD. This caused me to remember the episode when they can’t turn the computer on because it is voice activated, and, being me, I thought about how old the laptop looked. Then I remembered why. It is from the year 2000. “That wasn’t too long ago”, we try to convince ourselves. But, my friends, we couldn’t be more wrong. 2000 was a very long time ago – just shy of 10 years in fact. This disturbed me, and so we began listing things that have changed.

Some examples were:

  • The only Google product in existence was Google Search
    • That means no YouTube, Gmail, Google Docs, Google Earth etc.
  • Windows 2000 was about to be released – XP, Vista, and 7 would not be released for several years
  • George W. Bush had never been President
  • The iPod did not exist
  • MySpace did not exist
  • Facebook did not exist
  • Wikipedia did not exist
  • Mac OS X would not be released for another year
  • The PlayStation was still being manufactured, with the PlayStation 2 about to be released
  • The Game Boy Advance was still another year off

I was very surprised by all this, so I went to sleep.

So, what do you think of that lot? Please comment with anything you feel should have been mentioned :).

Leave a Reply

